That was an interesting experience.

Last night, I convinced the missus to log back in to WoW. She boosted her shaman. So I boosted my paladin that was paired up with her.

When we log in, I was expecting to be either on the Timeless Isle or in the Shrine in the Vale.

NOPE! We found ourselves in the Blasted Lands. I go to setup my action bars and key-binds with the spells that I’m used to using and…

“DA FUQ! What sort of foul devilry is this?!?!?!?!?!?”

…almost all of my spells are missing. I’m spec’ed protection and I don’t have Avenger’s Shield. I’ve got 4 abilities.

Again I say, “DA FUQ! What sort of foul devilry is this?!?!?!?!?!?”

So I gather up the quests and notice a quest reward for one of the quests that I don’t recall seeing on the other 12 toons that ran the Blasted Lands pre-patch quests. “AHHHHHHHH! They are using the Iron Horde Invasion quest line like the DK starter zone for boosted toons.”

So you have to spend about 20 minutes learning your boosted toon and slowly gather more and more of your abilities over the course of 18-ish quests. It wasn’t a big deal. It just took me by surprise.

I was especially surprised when the missus and I ran smack dab in the middle of the Horde quest hub. On all my other toons, I’d simply flown. Never even thinking about the faction hubs underneath me.

In the end, we did it. We got our abilities and I was able to spend some geek-time with the missus in WoW.

Later on, I decided to read up on the boosted toons in the Blasted Lands on the forums. HOLY CRAP! What a bunch of fucking cry-babies. It’s been a while since I’ve seen that level of QQ on a WoW forum.

Long and short of it “I was just allowed up to 90 free levels on my toon. I don’t want to learn the spells over 20 minutes. I want to jump right into SoO and be a fail [tank/heal/dps].”

If I was an exec at Blizz, I’d personally address each one of them.

For the folks that bought the expansion with the boost…

Dear disgruntled whiner,

Sorry about your troubles. We’ve just unboosted your toon. We’ve credited your account for the boost purchase. The boost has also been removed from your account, along with the ability to buy any further boosts. This should rectify the problem.

Thanks, Management

For the folks that bought a boost…

Dear disgruntled whiner,

Sorry about your troubles. We’ve just unboosted your toon. We’ve credited your account for the pre-order of WoD purchase. The WoD expansion along with the pre-order goodies (boost, pet, mount) have also been removed from your account. We’ve removed your ability to purchase the WoD expansion that includes any perks. You will be able to purchase a perk-free version of WoD. This should rectify the problem.

Thanks, Management

As you can see, it behooves Blizzard to not offer me any employment. I don’t think they’d like me telling their whiny little customers to STFU and GTFO.

Leave a Reply

