Transmog Review

I’ve seen a couple “XMog-in-review” posts elsewhere. Since I live in a world of perpetual writer’s-block, I decided to be a lemming and follow suit.

There are a couple of xmogs that I’ve used since it was originally introduced into the game. For the most part, I don’t particularly care for the look of many of the sets that exist in the game. However, I like bits and pieces of them. So I tend to take a hodgepodge of gear and make it into a set.


Aestalas' WoD Transmog
Aestalas’ WoD Heal Transmog

This my current healer transmog. With gear swapping stats when you swap specs, the armor has to look identical between the two. My dps transmog only visibly varies by the weapon. That’s my only cue that I’m in the right gear. In previous expansions, since I had completely different gear sets, I made them very different so I could tell at a glance what set I was wearing.

  • Head: Alloy-Inlaid Cap. WoD – Drops in Highmaul from Ko’ragh.
  • Shoulders: Shoulderpads of the Monolith. WotLK – Drops in Ulduar 25 from Kologarn.
  • Back: I run with cloak display turned off since it clips weapons.
  • Chest: Decaying Herbalists Robes. Cata – This used to be purchased with Valor Points, but is now bought with gold.
  • Shirt: Common Gray Shirt. This shirt matches the green/brown/gray of the rest of the set.
  • Wrists: These are unnecessary due to large gloves.
  • Hands: Fungus-Born Gloves. Cata – This used to be purchased with Valor Points, but is now bought with gold.
  • Waist: Belt of the Twilight Assassin. WotLK – This used to be purchased with Valor Points, but is now bought with gold.
  • Legs: These are unnecessary due to robe.
  • Feet: Mushan Hide Footguards. MoP – These were a quest reward from Kun Lai Summit that match pretty decently.
  • Weapon: Ranseur of Hatred. Cata – This is a drop from Firelands trash mobs.

View in WoWHead Item Comparison tool.


Aestalas' MoP Heal Transmog
Aestalas’ MoP Heal Transmog

This was my Healer transmog at the end of MoP. It’s the first time that I’ve ever liked an entire tier set, rather than things gathered across multiple expansions.

View in WoWHead Item Comparison tool.


Aestalas' Cata Heal Transmog
Aestalas’ Cata Heal Transmog

This was my Healer transmog during most of Cata and in the period of MoP prior to my SoO tier set.

View in WoWHead Item Comparison tool.


Aestalas' MoP DPS Transmog
Aestalas’ MoP DPS Transmog

This was my DPS transmog at the end of MoP. Prior to my completion of the of the legendary cloak quest (and for most of Cata), the head was Merciless Gladiator’s Kodohide Helm and the cloak was the Cloak of Beasts.

View in WoWHead Item Comparison tool.

One thought on “Transmog Review

  1. Pingback: Never thought I’d become an xmog fiend… | Bodhi Rana

Leave a Reply

