Legendary Ring #3 progress

I’m a glutton for punishment. Though, not nearly as much as others I follow. Most folks I know are firmly in the camp of “I’m only doing the legendary crap once. No more.” I’ve been in the “I’m only doing the legendary crap once on each faction main” camp.

Then I started playing on my Fury Warrior a bit more. Depending on how many healers we wind up with in Legion, there’s a possibility that I’ll be raiding with my Warrior or my freshly rolled Gnome Hunter. So, I figured I’d get my Warrior geared up a bit. What better way, than to get her the ring.

I knew there were some serious catch up mechanisms in place, but HOLY WOW! Also, this is a toon that has run Tanaan many times as well as Apexis dailies. So she was sitting on a mountain of Apexis Crystals.

Week 1:

  1. Run normal Skyreach for iLevel 640 ring.
  2. Run heroic Bloodmaul Slag Mines, Grimrail Depot, The Everbloom, and Auchindoun for iLevel 680 ring.
  3. Begin HM portion of quests.
  4. Tanaan Apexis quest that gives 25 Abrogator Stones.
  5. Full clear of Highmaul LFR.
  6. Several missions awarded the stones.
  7. Work orders around the garrison awarded one or two here and there.
  8. Ended week with 108/125 Abrogator Stones

Week 2:

  1. Tanaan Apexis quest that gives 25 Abrogator Stones.
  2. Completed quests for iLevel 690 ring.
  3. Begin BRF portion of quests.
  4. Tanaan Apexis quest that gives 75 Elemental Runes
  5. Full clear of BRF LFR.
  6. Several missions awarded the stones.
  7. Work orders around the garrison awarded one or two here and there.
  8. Ended the week with somewhere around 430/900 elemental runes.

Week 3:

  1. Tanaan Apexis quest that gives 75 Elemental Runes.
  2. Full clear of BRF LFR.
  3. Several missions awarded the stones.
  4. Work orders around the garrison awarded one or two here and there.
  5. Ended the week with somewhere around 860/900 elemental runes.

Week 4:

  1. Tanaan Apexis quest that gives 75 Elemental Runes.
  2. Complete quests for iLevel 715 ring.
  3. Complete quests for Garona follower.
  4. Begin HFC portion of quests along with shipyard portion of quests.
  5. Full clear of HFC LFR
  6. Ended the week with 9/33 Tomes of Chaos

Depending on how RNGeesus blesses me. I should have the ring in under 3 more clears of HFC. *crossing my fingers*

This means it’s about 2 months (allowing for some error) total to get your legendary ring from nothing. I think I’ll actually farm up a ring on the Hunter too.


EDIT (2016-05-19):

Week 5:

  1. Full clear of HFC LFR (a surprise note: there were only 2 stacks of determination with downing Archie, so the repair costs this week didn’t suck).
  2. Ended the week with 18/33 Tomes of Chaos

EDIT (2016-05-27):

Week 6:

  1. Full clear of HFC LFR (there were only 3 stacks of determination with downing Archie, maybe folks are getting it finally?).
  2. Ended the week with 28/33 Tomes of Chaos

EDIT (2016-05-27):

Week 7:

  1. Had to clear 3 wings of LFR (Hellbreach, Halls of Blood, and Destructor’s Rise) to get the remaining 5 tomes I needed.

FINAL VERDICT:

It is official. I am done with the ring quest. I was toying with running it on the Hunter, but no. I don’t have it in me to do another slog of 1 full Highmaul LFR, 2 full BRF LFR, almost 4 HFC LFRs. I look at that and I see “it’s only 1 full LFR each week for 7 weeks.” In theory, it’s great. However, in practice, there’s so much negativity and toxicity. I just will not do that again. Depending on how the “penultimate uber achievement” item is acquired next xpack, I might dig into it on more toons from the get-go.

5 thoughts on “Legendary Ring #3 progress

  1. Let’s not forget the profit! It’s about 150g to run a LFR, more with a satchel or with a friend — keep a tab on the cash flow, it might be worth it on that level too.
    And … you are crazy!

    1. In the 5 wings I ran, the repair costs totaled over 400G. Most of that from Black Gate. So if I boycotted Archie LFR, perhaps it’d be worthwhile. However, I’m in it to squeeze every last Tome out of my weekly lockout as possible. So Archie repairs + time wasted = more loss than I could put a gold equivalent to.

  2. Pingback: A Big Stat Stick – Coffee Cakes and Crits

Leave a Reply

