Filthy-Casual Life

It happened again. Guild(s) go ‘splodey. I was complicit in it too. Flash back to April 2015 when I was the GM of a dying guild. I’m now the GM of a dead guild.

The guild “of the Queue” <otQ> was bleeding out at the end of Shadowlands. A couple of folks wanted to try and stop the hemorrhaging, but weren’t given the permissions to do things. Heads butted. Feels were had. Folks that wanted a growing guild environment left and setup shop in “Last Pull Magic” <LPM>. I went with them and became a part of the 5 person council that would be a democratic leadership. We were adamant that all guild decisions would be majority rules.

We talked to folks to let them know what was happening and why we were leaving. Told them that we were not going to tell them they have to follow us, they’re still our friends and we will still run content together and they should follow their hearts.

This fractured the raid team (duh!) and they went in 3 different directions. Some came to <LPM>, some stayed in <otQ>, and others server hopped to Moon Guard. Dragonflight lands on us and we’re able to fill a raid team. Our raid team downs Vault of the Incarnates on normal difficulty. Then the burn out begins. We make a couple attempts for heroic progression, but we don’t have the people for it. We lose a tank who has quit WoW and is settling down in FF XIV. We put raiding on pause for a while. The active raiders then move to Moon Guard or Sin’jin. Then the other 4 council members stop logging in due to real-life stuff. For a few months, it’s just me and one of the healers logging in regularly. There’s another guildie that occasionally logs in, but rarely when I am logged in. The healer stops logging in because she’s moving. A young couple in the guild (daughter of a council member and her boyfriend) start logging in regularly, but they’re doing couples things.

So here I am. Back where I was in 2015. Contemplating whether I want to attempt organized group content. So I do the LFR thing. I enjoy the ability to convert LFR gear into tier appearances. I enjoy the ability to upgrade the gear into normal appearances. I am enjoying the story. I’m okay with being a filthy casual.

On the plus side of being a filthy casual, I’ve got 10 classes to max level. I’ve got both Alliance and Horde toons at level cap. I have the complete LFR and Normal tier appearances for 7 classes, with one more class being just a belt appearance away. I’m doing things and don’t have to worry about coordinating with others. I think I’ll bury my head in the sand for a spell and just keep with the status quo.

2 thoughts on “Filthy-Casual Life

  1. Life happens, and guilds come and go. That’s the sad part, knowing people and watching them fade away, not knowing what they’re up to.

    Still, you find the level you’re content with, and if this is the level that works for you, it works.

    1. I’m good with that. It’s just that it really burns that I was complicit in shattering a raid team into multiple pieces for a guild that lasted for a pre-patch and less than a season. I was the reason a few folks moved to LPM. That whole hindsight being 20/20 thing. If I knew then what I know now, I’d have tried to talk folks out of the move.

Leave a comment