WarCrack Questions

Dedralie, over at heliocentric, blogged “10 years: 10 questions” and I enjoyed it. I also realized I haven’t felt the urge to write anything WoW or Harley related in a while. So I figured I’d plagiarize the questions and use it as writing fodder. Who knows, something might spark a thought and I might actually write in my journal too. Or, the writing bug will die when I publish. Who knows?

At any rate, here’s the Q&A…

  1. Why did you start playing Warcraft?
    I’d always loved RP games (especially fantasy) as a kid and teen. In many ways, I never grew up from that. My step-father actually got me into D&D. Later, a friend got me into Marvel Superheros. I picked up WoW, because the person I was dating at the time played and loved it. I got horribly/wonderfully addicted to it and haven’t looked back since.
  2. What was the first ever character you rolled?
    My first toon was a what 90-some-odd% of all n00bs start with…Night Elf Huntard. I still have this toon, though he’s been race changed to a Worgen and has become more of an actual hunter and less of a huntard. The next 3 toons I created (Forsaken Warlock, Night Elf Druid, and Human Rogue) were quickly deleted after I realized they weren’t for me at the time. Since I joined WoW right about the time WotLK landed, I was racing to get my hunter to 55, so I could roll up a Death Knight. Since then, my main is another Night Elf Druid that I rolled up shortly after getting sick of my Death Knight.
  3. Which factors determined your faction choice in game?
    Like with all social things, most of my toons were created to run with friends. Most of them have been Alliance. Though, truth be told, Tauren are my favorite race. Most of my in-game friends have moved on to bigger and better. So I just play which ever toon strikes my fancy at the time. I have at least 1 of each class at max level. I have healers, tanks, and dps on both sides of the faction divide.
  4. What has been your most memorable moment in Warcraft and why?
    I’m not sure I’d call it memorable, as I don’t remember it (lots of whiskey involved). However, there was one night I was healing chained heroic 5-mans for the guild.  Apparently, it was my best night of healing. Apparently, we ran 7 or 8 dungeons. I vaguely recalled 3 of them the next day. To this day, my guild asks me to tank up on booze before we raid or 5-man.
  5. What is your favourite aspect of the game and has this always been the case?
    I love the diversity the game offers. There is so much to do at any level. Farming to make gold on the auction house. Questing around old zones for completion achievements and to see parts of the game you haven’t experienced yet. Quest on the other faction, as there’s differences on both sides of the divide. Group activities (5-mans, 10/25-man raids, trolling trade chat) to get some cool adventures or waste time. Run dailies for relatively easy gold. Solo old raids and dungeons for achievements and to really get a chance to see how much time and effort the developers put into the scenery.
  6. Do you have an area in game that you always return to?
    There are a couple of places in the game that hold a special memory or two. There have been guild mates that have passed away and we’ve held in-game memorials at a couple of the more scenic areas. Whenever I pass those spots, it brings back memories of those friends.
  7. How long have you /played and has that been continuous?
    Here’s the breakdown of my 90’s. I have other toons at varying levels, but didn’t include them in this list.
    Toon Class Race Days Hours
    Aestalas Druid Night Elf 86 22
    Lohattal Shaman Tauren 16 8
    Baraskatur Hunter Worgen 49 18
    Razloppesk Rogue Gnome 22 4
    Jorsakari Death Knight Draenai 19 19
    Kaeldarsulan Mage Blood Elf 10 8
    Hungmau Priest Pandaren 7 23
    Lohathan Monk Tauren 7 21
    Minaescule Warrior Dwarf 6 8
    Tiravianna Warlock Gnome 6 7
    Lohatral Paladin Tauren 1 9
  8. Admit it: do you read quest text or not?
    The first time I do quests on each side of the faction line, I read the quest text. On the remaining dozen or so alts, NOPE, not a single word.
  9. Are there any regrets from your time in game?
    There’s a part of me that wonders what I could have accomplished with my time around the house, if I hadn’t gotten addicted. Then, there’s the part of me that says “Hey, you’re having fun and not hurting anyone. Carry on.”
  10. What effect has Warcraft had on your life outside gaming?
    SO. MUCH. TIME. SPENT. PLAYING. GAMES. Over 235 entire days for my max level toons. That doesn’t count the time I spent on the lower toons, or the ones I created/leveled/deleted. I’ve found that there are actually quite a few people that play WoW, some just as addicted as I am. There are others that look at me like a lost soul. When I’m around WoW friends, we talk WarCrack. When I’m around non-WoW friends, we talk other stuff. It’s really just a hobby.
Leave a Reply

